top of page
unsplash-4DaSc3Sn76A_edited.jpg
Brown Simple Aesthetic Desktop Wallpaper.png
  • Toil & Trouble

FREAKY FLASH FRIDAY: Dawn Visitors by Lisa Williams

I was grateful you’d warned me they were coming. The cottage felt the thud of hooves on the mossy forest floor before anything else. It was morning, early, the sun not yet awake; a mist bloomed from their horse’s nostrils when they stopped.


The King’s men! All anger and bluff. I knew a thirst would be with them so I’d made a tea. I’d picked carefully the shinier leaves, Cow Parsley and Hemlock so very similar to the untrained eye. I added a few cloves to spice, and left a jar of honey so they could sweeten their own endings.

 

Lisa Williams is a writer from Leicester. She has a Masters in Creative Writing from Leicester University and tends to write mostly short fiction. Her work has been published in numerous anthologies. You can find her online @noodleBubble.

 

Image credit: eberhard grossgasteiger


bottom of page